MOBILE         STUDENTS         VISITORS & FRIENDS         A-Z INDEX         DIRECTORY         WWCC JOBS         CAMPUS MAP         FAQ MyWWCC
WWCC Logo  
Left Navigation Bar About WWCC Academics Services Admissions WWCC Life Athletics Right Navigation Bar
Layout transition
Social Media Icons Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Google+ Tumblr Instagram
Western students receive Wyoming NASA Space Grant Community College STEM scholarships

April 07, 2015

Western students Edi
Western students Edison Elder, Jennifer Knox, Hailey LeFaivre, and Andrea Sanchez-Walk are recipients of the Wyoming NASA Space Grant Community College STEM Scholarship.

ROCK SPRINGS – Four students from Western Wyoming Community College were awarded scholarships this semester as part of the Wyoming NASA Space Grant Community College STEM Scholarship program. The awards are available to community-college students who are majoring in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and some health science fields, and they are worth up to $1,000 each.  

This year’s recipients include: engineering major Edison Elder, of Rock Springs; chemistry and pre-med major Haley LeFaivre, of Rock Springs; computer information systems major Jennifer Knox, of Rock Springs; and pre-health science major Andrea Sanchez-Walk, of Rock Springs.

Associate Professor of Information Technology Carla Hester-Croff, who is a local Space Grant Advisory Board representative, said that eligible applicants for this award must be full-time students and U.S. citizens, and must be studying for a qualified major. At Western, qualified majors include chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, mathematics, physics, biological sciences, and pre-pharmacy.

STEM Scholarships are a program of the Wyoming NASA Space Grant Consortium, which sponsors educational and research programs in support of NASA’s missions and serves as a link between citizens of the state and NASA programs. Other Wyoming community-college affiliates with the NASA Consortium include: Casper College; Northern Wyoming Community College District; Central Wyoming College; Eastern Wyoming College; Laramie County Community College; and Northwest College.

The Wyoming NASA Space Grant Consortium is one of 52 consortia representing each U.S. state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

For more information, contact Carla Hester-Croff at or go to


For more information, contact Audrey Harton at (307) 382-1661 or
(307) 382-1600 or toll free (800) 226-1181